Airbus Aircraft Numbering System

Airbus uses an alphanumeric numbering system to identify its aircraft models. You'll be familiar with the A320, A330, A340 and A380 for example.

In addition to this, Airbus adds an additional three numbers which provide additional information.


In the above example, A380 is the model number. The red 8 represents the model variant, an Airbus A380-800. The blue 4 represents the engine manufacturer (a list of manufacturers can be found below) and the purple 2 represents the engine version.

The model shown above then is an Airbus A380-800 fitted with either Rolls-Royce Trent 972-84 (76,752 lbs thrust) or Trent 972-84B (80,213 lbs thrust) engines.

Engine Codes

0 = General Electric (GE)
1 = CFM International (GE/SNECMA)
2 = Pratt and Whitney (P&W)
3 = International Aero Engines (RR, P&W, Kawasaki, Mitsubishi and Ishikawajima-Harima)
4 = Rolls Royce (RR)
6 = Engine Alliance (GE/P&W)

NOTE: There is no number 5.

See the Boeing equivalent here.